Project Vocalis

One woman's quest to travel, investigate, and educate about what makes us uniquely passionate.

The Wonder of Being Wrong

So here’s the thing– chances are, I’m wrong about something and so are you.

It’s been about a week since I came back from the TEDx conference at Concordia University in Portland, Oregon. Honestly, it’s taken me about an entire week to soak it all in and try to comprehend the amount of inspiration and extraordinariness that I had just witnessed.

The theme of this post is being wrong–drawn from my favorite TED video that was shown at the conference: Kathryn Schulz- On Being Wrong

I thought that the TED conference would go a lot differently for me. I had envisioned myself wandering up to random strangers who looked like they knew a lot about the world, asking them tons of questions and then featuring them on my blog.

Well, such was not the case. The whole day seemed to sift through my fingers–as if each person attending were a tiny and perfect grain of sand. I didn’t even know where to start. How in the world do you choose someone to talk to about their innermost passion and life meaning out of some of the most inspirational 600 some people in the whole region?

I was paralyzed by inspiration–which is a much more eloquent way of saying that the voice in my head was screaming “OH MY GOD THIS IS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO COOOL. SO COOL SO COOL SO COOL”…all day long.

While my original plan did not quite happen, I did managed to record a conversation between me and the girl that was sitting next to me. Even though she was my age, I was astonished at the simple profundity with which she spoke. An aspiring massage therapist and healer–Samantha Barnes surprised me and made me realize that both in the environment of the conference and in life, it’s the everyday people that are extraordinary and full of wisdom.

Here’s a snippet of our conversation: Samantha Barnes

After pounding my head against the wall for not having taken full advantage of this opportunity to network and then watching Kathryn Shulz’s speech multiple times, I’ve come to realize something:

Life very rarely goes as you plan it to. What I got out of the conference was something very quiet yet powerful–an organic connection with another wonderful human and the ability to see wonder in the unexpected.

Honestly, I couldn’t have asked for more.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Wonder of Being Wrong

  1. Christina Nilsson on said:

    Great life lessons – what an amazing experience!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

